Tilapia Lunch

The sis is in town!

This means a few things for me –

First, HAPPINESS!

Second, I’ve got to push through with my commitment to nutrition amidst the sampling we’re doing of local deliciousness (Tortilla Press Sweet Potato Burrito!)

My normal Work-Crossfit-Dog Walk-Clean-Sleep routine is perfectly conducive to relatively boring eating. I can scarf some eggs & bacon for breakfast, chicken, peppers and nuts for a quick lunch, and some basic meats & veggies with avocado for dinner and be perfectly happy with the monotony. But in providing nonstop excitement for my most favorite houseguest, I have been trying to think on my feet.

Yesterday we wanted a light lunch so we went with Tilapia from Trader Joe’s with a lemon-basil sauce with delicious coconut milk to add a creamy texture. Easy and really yummy.

Ingredients:

Tilapia fillets, sprinkled lightly with lemon juice
Put some olive oil in a skillet and heat at medium-low. Cook Tilapia, turning intermittently, until fish is totally opaque and flakes easily.

Paleo cooking on our lovely, petite stove.

Sauce (Based on a recipe from Paleo Plan):
1/2 C. Coconut Milk*
4 Tsp. olive oil
2 cloves garlic
2 Tbs. basil
Juice from 1 lemon

Saute garlic in olive oil to infuse the flavor. Add lemon juice and basil and continue stirring. Slowly add coconut milk until sauce reaches your desired consistency.

Top the fish with this delicious sauce and enjoy! I added some Kalamata olives as well. Perfection.

The Greek-esque flavor is enhanced by the olives.

*I buy Thai Kitchen full-fat coconut milk, dump the whole can into the blender, and pulse until the cream & water combines again. I often thin the mixture with a cup of mineral water…twice the coconut milk for the same price!

4 Comments to “Tilapia Lunch”

  1. Does it taste fishy?

    • One of my favorite things about Tilapia and white fish in general is that it definitely does NOT! It really took on the flavor of the sauce.

  2. My husband and I have just started Paleo, so we are building our bank of recipes. This was a very easy and excellent addition! Thank you!

    • That’s awesome, Alicia! I just received Mark Sisson’s The Primal Blueprint Cookbook in the mail. I haven’t been so excited about a cookbook in a long time. It really looks amazing – check it out if you get the chance!

Leave a Reply

