Mouth Money – 30 Days, Day 28

As I bring Mouth Money V.1 to a close, I’ve been asked “what’s next?” Nothing changes for me – I’ll continue to eat “clean” as I have been – but with the self-satisfaction of having “walked the walk” publicly. I will relieve myself – and my three readers – of the dutiful daily FACEBOOK/TWITTER updates (unless the day’s meals truly stand out) while continuing to gauge my own progress and seek knowledge about nutrition and healthful living, as well as how I can improve upon my current choices.

Sunday, August 8, 2010

Saturday’s trip to NYC was incredible – perfectly warm weather, sunny skies, a light breeze, and trips to all those sites which everyone should visit and take a moment to reflect – Lady Liberty, Ellis Island, the 9-11 memorial site. I am so grateful for such a perfect day to explore the city with family.

We slept in Sunday. While my Vibram (pronounced Vee-bram…anyone besides me been saying it wrong this whole time?) Five Fingers kept me profoundly comfortable during our 12-hour tour, I was still pretty wiped. Discovering that we have an entire refrigerator full of produce to be eaten ASAP was  a bit of a bummer – when you spend 4 days touring restaurants with family you tend to forget that nutritious food doesn’t have a shelf life.

Breakfast: A medley of undercooked collard greens (blech), zucchini, roasted baby tomatoes, eggs and a few slices of bacon. We got the greens down and tried to enjoy the rest of the meal.

I don't recommend the last-minute approach to collard green preparation.

Lunch: I started cooking for the week – attempting to use all remaining veggies from the fridge – and sampled all stages of my creation.

Meat & Veggie Chili with Sweet Potato – The same process as Bison Chili, but I added chopped sweet potato (sauteed until soft); chopped zucchini, and a tablespoon of cinnamon. I wanted to “cut” the standard chili with veggies to add texture and nutrient content, and of course, to use the squash before it spoiled.

Enough for the week. Maybe.

A veggie & sun-dried tomato quiche (same as this recipe, but containing sauteed onion, broccoli, SDT and leeks).

The leeks - sliced thin and sauteed briefly. Broccoli - lightly steamed & added to the saute pan to meld flavors.

Delicious both re-heated and cold.

And more Vegetable Who-Hash (attempted a double recipe, which somehow increased the cook time by a factor of ten).

Crock pot pork shoulder - seasoned with cumin and cooked on low for 10 hours.

The shredded pork shoulder is added to the chopped root veggies and browned. For about three years.

Parsnips, turnips, beets and carrot.

This represents several precious hours wherein I could've been catching up on Rescue Me.

Dinner: We went to a Collingswood favorite, The Tortilla Press, and I did what we Paleo-ites have to do sometimes: peel & pick. While having a few corn tortillas (they’re gluten-free, but still a grain) wouldn’t be the end of my world, I did want to stick with the letter AND the spirit of Mouth Money. So I picked the innards out, scraped the sauce off, and enjoyed some delicious chicken with guajillo and fire-roasted tomato sauce with a vegetable medley.

There was plenty of Delicious without the tortillas.

I should’ve taken an “after” photo to relive the dissection.

4 Comments to “Mouth Money – 30 Days, Day 28”

  1. Who-hash looks Yummy.

  2. I’m going to miss your daily gastronomical/physical updates.
    Don’t forget to feed the inner man with a “feast of Soul and a famine of sense,” as our dear MBE recommends. The daily lesson-sermon is but a single hors d’oeurve of what’s available in spiritual nutrition, y’know.
    I almost bought a pair of Fivefingers Janes for $64 on the internet, but decided I didn’t need them even at that reduced price.
    Cheer!
    Gramma

  3. sounds like what i did when i got a chicken burrito. i left a corpse of tortilla in my wake. 🙂

    i just found your blog and i like it! yay paleo!! go meat!

    i keep on saying V-EYE brams. i dunno. veeebrams sounds weird to me.

    • From CaveGirlAdmin (Jerselizabeth):

      @traynharder23: Thanks for the complement! I know what you mean…I still say V-EYE brams…I frowned a little when I found out it’s Vee-brams. I still think V-EYE brams sounds better.

Leave a Reply

