It’s the Weekend. Make Paleo Pizza.

So I’m a married Cave Person. Thus – I am boring, don’t feel obligated to go out, and am happy to force my Cavehusband to suffer through my bouts of blog-induced Friday night insanity.

Image from the very smart - almost too smart - http://xkcd.com/ blog.

I truly enjoy Primal cooking. It’s not too complicated (various combinations of meat, spices and veggies – no “reductions” or “roux” or “Frenchness”). When cooking, Google, and Friday night converge, it’s truly the perfect Paleo storm. While we like to stay gluten/grain-free and stick to minimally processed foods, weekends are a fun time to get a little more creative. We generally avoid dairy, but we’ll do a little cheese or butter when we REALLY want to party because we found after a 30-day elimination that, in small (full-fat) quantities, we tolerate it well.

I’ve seen a few recipes for “Paleo Pizza” using such things as Cauliflower crust (still need to try it) and meat crust (Meatza!) but this recipe from Steve at Primalocity for Primal Taco Pizza struck an emotional chord with me. Back when I was a little Cave Kid, my favorite school lunch was “Fiestada Pizza.” Of course, the nutrition profile of school lunches at the time was disastrous, but the slight spiciness of this lunch always excited me. So I figured – why not try to re-live part of my childhood? Maybe later I’d stage a spelling bee (which I would win, of course).

Steve’s recipe was inspired by this post by AndreAnna, The Primal Matriarch (a super-cool Paleo blogger) who adapted the gluten-free cracker recipe below from Elana Amsterdam’s terrific Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook. See how we all help each other be Awesome?

Steve’s Primal Taco Pizza required taco sauce and chorizo – of which we had none – so I’m including recipes for those as well.

Step One: Make the crust.

I cut AndreAnna’s recipe for cheddary crackers in half. It made a perfect, crunchy, cracker-thin crust.

Ingredients for 1/2 recipe:
1-1/4 c. almond flour (I have mine shipped from Nuts Online)
1-1/4 c. grated cheddar
Pinch of salt
1/4 tsp. aluminum-free baking soda (available at Trader Joe’s)
1 egg, beaten
1-1/2 Tbs. olive oil

Combine the first 4 ingredients, then add the egg and oil. Mix. Place the ball of dough on an extra-long piece of parchment paper.

The ingredients should stick together easily.

Fold the sheet of parchment paper over the ball of dough, sandwiching the dough between the sheets, and smooth the dough out until thin.

The dough smooths easily and is plenty big enough to make a pizza for two.

Bake at 325 for about 15 minutes. It should not be doughy in the middle. Set aside.

Step Two: Make the taco sauce.

Combine the following with 2 cups of water and one can of tomato paste. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. Add more tomato paste if you’d like a thicker sauce.

1/2 Tbs chipotle chili powder
1/2 Tbs cumin
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder,
1/4 tsp smoked spanish paprika
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

Step 3: Make the chorizo

I used this recipe from The Spice House, but eliminated the peppers due to a shopping oversight.
Simply combine the ground pork with the spices and garlic, cook well, then add chopped onion. Once the onion is well-cooked add the vinegar and water, then continue cooking until it looks like chorizo.
Step Four: Make Primalocity’s Delicious Taco Pizza.

Spread taco sauce on the crust and top with chorizo, then more taco sauce.

Paleo pizza, pre-cheese.


Top with a bit of grated cheddar and extra onion and bake at 375 for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted. This pizza cuts up nicely and the crust has a great crunch. While you can’t lift the whole piece at once, a fork – or your fingers – will make it easy to enjoy.

Serve this up next to some Mango guacamole (mush 3 avocados, 2 Tbs. cilantro, lime juice, salt, chopped onion and chopped mango – easy) and enjoy.

Delicious, filling, and no gluten contamination. What more could you want from your Friday night?

8 Responses to “It’s the Weekend. Make Paleo Pizza.”

  1. Yay! So glad this came out so well. I love that we all have this little community where we share and invent and share again!

    I haven’t tried the taco pizza yet, but you bet your sweet cavegirl butt, I’m making it this week one night!!

    I bet it would be good with red onion, bbq chicken and jack cheese too!! The possibilities really are endless!

  2. The fact that pizza still exists in a Paleo world has been one of the main reasons I have been willing to be open to Paleo in the first place. *laughs* I def want to try this recipe! Plus I also found a recipe on EverydayPaleo that does the crust a bit differently and is more Italian than Mexican, so that’s going to happen soonish as well. I’m curious about crusts, though, and hope they won’t all be automatically crunchy. We shall see.

    Also, in case anyone is interested: eating Paleo right after you have gotten your wisdom teeth out is…if not impossible, REALLY damn difficult. Both to actually do and to motivate oneself for, especially if/when one does 90%+ of one’s own cooking. But I should be back on the wagon soon.

    Oh, and CaveGirl? You can CrossFit circles around me, but I’d take you in a spelling bee any day of the week. 😉

    • Oooh, I dunno James – I won the 5th and 6th grade spelling bees AND went to the districts! We’ll have to have a spell-off!

      I’m curious what you found difficult about eating “Paleo” with wisdom teeth out? So many Neolithic foods are crunchy, chewy, and I found them very difficult to eat when I got mine out. Meanwhile, pureed veggie matter, coconut milk, and mashed winter squash seem like good options. It’s been awhile though – I wasn’t a cavegirl then – but I do remember ending up with dry sockets!

      • Yep, you got it. Paleo foods are crunchy and/or chewy, and basically I couldn’t chew anything. Meat, veggies, fruit…anything that required me to (1) open my mouth to fit in a bite and (2) press my jaws and teeth together at all…it just hurt way too much. (Point of interest: i brought this up because it happened to me last week, not just as a general topic of discussion, lol.) So not only did I not eat Paleo last week, tbqh I barely ate anything at all. A little soup, some yogurt, a few milkshakes, and water…that’s about all I could get into my mouth.

        To be fair, eating veggie puree or squash and drinking coconut milk might have worked. But it’s hard to think about that kind of thing when just the idea of food is painful (or at least it was for me). I’m just glad the ordeal is over, lol. and this week I’m going to try making your chicken salad, I think, so I’ll let you know how that goes.

  3. Oohm forgot to mention, I don’t know if you make your own BBQ or not, but when I’m too lazy I use Pebble Creek which I order from Amazon. It’s no sugar added, all natural and is as delicious as the ones full of HFCS. Its a bit pricey but good to have on hand when you’re being lazy like me and have run out of homemade!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

