Shopping List + Love Letter

Because the two go hand-in-hand, yes?

I remember my “wish list” from a few years ago. Okay, fine – five years ago. Half a damn decade. (Remember the days when “five years ago” meant “I’m too young to remember that far back?”) It was filled with things I wanted to own:

Pieces of Art
Dooney & Bourke bag
Spinning shoes
Bread maker
A Man of my Very Own

Obviously, this was from my pre-Primal (and pre-CaveHusband) days. I was lucky enough to find the D&B at a thrift store, and I did get about a year of good use out of those spin shoes before my spin buddy and I moved away from one another and I transitioned into a CrossFit-like regimen. Thankfully I was back into an Atkins-esque carb-less phase before the bread maker ever made it into my kitchen. I found the CaveHusband on a shelf in the Perfect Man section at Nordstrom, so that worked out well.

He wasn't on sale, but I couldn't resist.

 

And I never did buy any art. I never seemed to connect with anything meaningful (or affordable). So my Shopping Wish List has evolved (pun intended) from the Pre-Primal to something hilariously different (with one item carrying over):

Pieces of Art
Food Dehydrator
Meat Slicer
Vacuum Sealer
Chest Freezer

How many Paleo Peeps feel my pain? First, you start coveting home-made jerky. (Not everyone is lucky enough to work for the best jerky maker in the game – see Steve’s interview for Crossfit Love’s 30-Day Paleo Challenge here). Then you start thinking how many new, convenient items you could add to your Paleo Menu with a meat slicer (HOMEMADE DELI STYLE MEAT? Yesplease.) Then you realize how AMAZING it would be if you could vacuum-seal your own olive blend for travel days! And when you’re driving an hour each way to get your farm-fresh grass-fed meat fix (my farms are Cherry Grove, Birchwood, and Jennings) you can’t help but wish you could take the whole cow home all at once. But where would it live? A chest freezer, of course.

Thanks to Papa Elf and the amazingly efficient delivery system that Santa Clause and The Home Depot have created, we got 2 of those items for Christmas:

Who wants to split a cow? We can make jerky out of it too!

What makes me so happy about this is that we’re continuing to deepen our connection with the food that we eat by building relationships with farmers, understanding what it takes to get our favorite items from field to table (egg shortages happen, folks) and realizing that you pay dearly later to eat cheap food today.

So I realize that the one thing that’s stuck around over years of morphing wish lists is the Art. And guess what I found? Art that combines my love of Real Food with my love of Eating It with my love of Etsy. I present to you, the new NorthEast wall of my kitchen!

The only day I've been happier was the day I made the above-referenced Nordstrom find.

 

Check out drywell art at www.drywellart.com. Her stuff is AWESOME.

I conclude this post with a little Love Letter. My husband is finally returning from deployment at some point in the next 24-48 hours. (With any luck he’ll make it in time for our scheduled CrossFit Level 1 Cert this weekend. So if I’m not around for a few days, you’ll know why.) Husband, I want you to know that I love you so dearly, I’m incredibly proud of you, and I’m so grateful to be married to you. I also want you to know that I moved all of your stuff from the medicine cabinet to either under the sink, under the bed, or possibly on the top shelf of the laundry room. So…sorry about that.

And one more thing…I am making you bacon-wrapped dates when you get back.

BWDs from @QuinnK, the epicenter of Twitter hilarity.

Bacon-Wrapped Dates

Ingredients:
Bacon
Pitted Dates
Pecans (or, if you’re doing Dairy, some goat cheese)

Instructions:
Cut a slit across one side of the date to facilitate stuffing. Stuff with pecan or goat cheese.
Wrap with 1/2 to 1 slice of bacon and secure with a toothpick.
Bake at 375 for about 30 minutes.

20 Responses to “Shopping List + Love Letter”

  1. One of my co-workers this summer was obsessed with bacon-wrapped dates–or what she referred to as “sex on a stick.” It was rather amusing. (And they are delicious.)

    Yay for returning CaveHusbands!

  2. Sex on a stick is a pretty good description.

  3. I really was reading your mind. SPOOKY!

  4. And now, I have to go to the store to buy more bacon. And dates. And goat cheese.

  5. Aww. I love this. My husband came home from deployment and I was all “i love you honey! Your stuff is ummm…somewhere.”

    Also: I just bought a house and my FAVORITE thing about it is I now have space for a chest freezer. yay!

    • Isn’t homeownership grand? Congratulations on buying a place to keep your chest freezer! Be sure to thank your husband for me for his service, and so much love to you for your sacrifices too. I hope you found all of his stuff – I’m having a few issues remembering where I put everything!

      • Oh, thank you for your nice words – I send then directly back to you and your husband. It’s a great life, but it can be hard!! But, yes, we totally bought a house for our chest freezer and pull up bars. It is not a coincidence that it’s the only house we saw whose basement had ceilings high enough or a decent wall ball 🙂

  6. Bacon wrapped dates? I haven’t even had them yet, but “sex on a stick” sounds like a pretty good description!

  7. What a great post! You were a beautiful bride (you can get THAT at Nordstorm’s?!) and now a beautiful cave girl! A food dehydrator is SO on my list (and it’s about the only thing I can fit right now. Congrats on your CaveGirl gifts and on having your husband home!

    Cara
    http://primroseandpaleo.wordpress.com

  8. Dates stuffed with pecans are one reason I’m doing the paleo love challenge this month!! They are amazingly delicious. It’s almost unfair how amazing they are.

    Loved this post. Bill was a little shocked when I told him we now need a meet slicer, vacuum sealer, and chest freezer. Once I told him we could have sliced meat and keep a whole cow for him in the house he perked up. The top of our wish list is of course a Vitamix. The rest of my wish list is everything in Williams Sonoma 😉

    Enjoy the time with your caveman! I can barely go an hour without mine, so you are a stronger cave girl than I am for sure.

    • I KNEW I remembered the date/pecan mix from somewhere! My girl Quinn googled “Paleo Appetizers” before I came to visit her that day and that’s what she came up with…I bet she found it on your site! How fun! We may need to split a cow along with going halvsies on the VitaMix.

  9. Okay – jsut got the posters from Drywell – couldn’t resist the hotdog one on their too!! THanks for the link!

  10. Great post. I’ve been trying to wait and get a dehydrator from my mom that she got at a yard sale (along with fondue pots and breadmakers–everyone thinks they need one but not many actually use them) but after this weekend and this post I think I have to go buy one today.

    • I had fondue this weekend for the first time and WOW! I think it would be an amazing “Paleo/Primal” tool…I’m sure there are options above & beyond the standard cheese n’ chocolate dips. I wish we had room for one in our lil’ house, but we’re at sardine level at this point. I really, really like my dehydrator and it’s surprisingly easy to use – even for me, and I hate, Hate, HATE reading directions.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

