Potent Po(r)tables.

So Oprah’s veganism episode aired on Tuesday. Michael Pollan was there too. Anybody watch? I would have, but CaveHubs and I were super busy doing this:

We're big on creative, romantic dates.

I know it’s horrible. I should be open to all discussions and points of view. But someone like Oprah, who has been so consistently unsuccessful in her healthful-living endeavors should just stick to Book Club and quit framing bad advice as the new miracle. Of course, I didn’t watch, so I’m making assumptions. And I know I’m right.

I spent my non-Oprah time on my new obsession: Finding delicious, portable-type foods that are quick, storage-friendly, nutrient-dense, and paleo-approved for those rare days when the CH doesn’t make me breakfast in bed. Because it’s fun to say, I call these Potent Po(r)tables. And if you don’t get that joke, you’re either really lame or I’m REALLY old. (Don’t make fun or I’ll sick Turd Ferguson on your arse.)

“Thaaats notmyname. Name’s Turd Ferguson.”

Awhile back AndreAnna piqued my interest with the words “egg cupcake.” Eggy Whaa? Her recipe for Sun-dried tomato & egg cupcakes was featured on Food Renegade – check it out here. What an idea! I made mine a little more blue-collar, mostly because I was dying to make some but it was too icy and cold to make a trip to the grocery store. I had eggs, butternut squash, bacon, onion, and green pepper. And dang it – I was gonna make this work. Next time I’ll throw in a dash of cream in order to – as phrased on Food Renegade – “fluffify.”

My favorite part about these “cupcakes” was the butternut squash – I chose to make these dairy-free, and the squash was almost like a replacement for the texture of cheese, with a sweeter flavor.

Inspired by AndreAnna: Egg Cupcakes

Ingredients:

Muffin cups
1-2 cups roasted butternut squash (peel, chop into small chunks and roast at 400 for 30 minutes)
5 slices of bacon, cooked & crumbled
1/2 green pepper, chopped (more or less to taste)
1/2 onion, chopped (more or less to taste)
Approximately one egg (beaten) per cupcake (I made 12)

Once your butternut squash is ready, reduce the oven heat to 325.

Cook bacon and set aside. Once it cools, crumble into small pieces.

Cook chopped onion and green pepper in a bit of bacon grease until soft. Add mix to beaten eggs and stir.

Add a bit of squash and bacon to each muffin cup:

Just a few chunks of squash with about 1 Tbs. bacon crumbles.

 

Now use a measuring cup (I used 1/4 c) to scoop out the egg/onion/pepper mixture:

These will rise just slightly while baking.

 

Bake at 325 for about 30 minutes. Test the center with a toothpick to be sure they’re done. Store in the fridge – these didn’t last long (because I’m an incredibly talented delicious-maker) but they’d be good in the fridge for at least a week.

Mmmmmm....breakfast cupcakes.

 

14 Responses to “Potent Po(r)tables.”

  1. I tried these egg cupcakes two weeks ago! Dee-lish! I used spinach,onion,garlic, and some celery root I had on hand… Anyway, I have a tip for people: Use Cupcake Paper Liners. I *STILL* haven’t been able to get the egg off my “non-stick” cupcake pan. I greased it with ghee. I am super-sad, and my cupcake pan is starting to rust after soaking in water & soap for several days at a time!

    • Ooh, Mel, I have a fun trick for greasing! Thanks for reminding me, I’ll put it up tomorrow! I understand mourning cookware. (RIP cupcake pan). I’ve lost a few glass dishes too (Tip: don’t pour cool broth into a hot glass dish unless you want to pick shards of glass out of your feet for 2 weeks).

      I’m glad I used the paper liners, I could have just as easily skipped them and I’d be out ANOTHER pan!

  2. I’ve done these and loved them! But also ended up throwing away my muffin pan! Hahaha! I put a cherry tomato in each one and “nested” it w some cooked/chopped spinach. The possibilities are endless. I love the idea of squash as cheese substitute!

    • I LOVE that cherry tomato idea! Now I’m thinking how fun it could be to stuff the tomato with goat cheese and THEN bake it into the egg cupcake! Oh, so many possibilities. Seriously, these go down like candy.

  3. Yay!! So glad you made them.

    And I hereby motion to add “fluffiify” to our daily lexicon.

  4. Um, I would like these IMMEDIATELY. I am so making them this weekend. That AndreAnna is such a peach!

  5. Brilliant! OH I am so ready to get started on eating this way for the rest of my life. Only 10 more days! In the meantime, I’ll probably speed thru the dvr’d Oprah show. I wholeheartedly agree–much as I love her she really has no business passing on diet and health advice. :-[

  6. Hi! I just found your blog today and love it! I’m coincidentally starting my Paleo adventure today for the first time and am very excited. Your blog is so witty and funny to read. I’m with you on the only having two readers who are family members thing 🙂 also love the references to cool films (romy and michelles high school reunion) and books– things I forgot about like Ramona Quimby. Will be following your blog regularly now. Post suggestions– starting out Paleo and kicking the sugary carb habit. Unless you’ve already done that and I haven’t seen yet! Thanks! Take care

    • P.S. Totally agree about Oprah. When I was a vegan years ago she tried it out publicly then and claimed it some spiritual revelation diet…..Guess it didn’t last as she’s doing it again. Poor Oprah. Just can’t figure it out.

    • I’m so glad you like the blog Vanessa! For some reason I really relate to movie references, I just can’t help it! Your post ideas are awesome and I will definitely get to work on those. I’m doing a nutrition workshop soon with my CrossFit affiliate and am putting together a starter kit booklet, and I’ll try to make that available here as well! I’m working on getting that done by next week, so check back!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

