Project: Back to School…

I’m still alive and kickin’ (enough to screw up 2 attempts at beef jerky and one “college try” at home-making a roasting rack) and I just wanted to give my readers (Hey mom! Hey sis! Hey Justin Bieber and Selenita Gomez!) a lil’ update…

I’m ecstatic to be in final preparations to begin my Nutritional Therapy program! The next year will be spent fulfilling my dream of becoming a Nutritional Therapy Practitioner. While we crunched the numbers on going back to University for an RD qual or to become a Clinical Nutritionist, in the end I couldn’t A) Justify the expense or B) envision laboring through 4 more years of college in a SAD-oriented program whose affiliated organizations condone recommending processed carbs to diabetics.

Yes, this really happens. From the venerable American Diabetes Association:

The Big Book of Diabetic Desserts, available for purchase through the ADA. Served with a side of insulin.

The current government-supported nutritional recommendations (unfortunately, the standards for University nutrition programs are derived straight from these flawed guidelines) wholeheartedly support the pharmaceutical onslaught that this country is eating up (literally). The idea that whole grains are “good” and bacon is “bad” is based on bad science, a misunderstanding of appropriate food sourcing, and the Food Industry’s desperate attempts to keep us beholden to their packaged products. Lots of people stand to lose LOTS of money if Humanity wises up. And even if Science figured out what The Body already knows, I wouldn’t expect Wheat Thins to add a disclaimer to their boxes. (But if they did, I assume it would look like this:)

We need a paradigm shift, and I believe Nutritional Therapy is a guiding light in this battle. Nora Gedgaudas, the author of Primal Body, Primal Mind, is a certified NTP, and I couldn’t be more excited to work towards that title. I’ll still be blogging, here and for Steve’s Original, so please stick with me! All I ask is that you feel free to ask any questions you may have so I can evaluate them in the context of Nutritional Therapy and continue to learn from my amazing readers and friends.

Oh, and here’s a quick game: Which one of these is Real Food?

23 Responses to “Project: Back to School…”

  1. Once my kids are both in full-time school, I plan on this route too! I also would like to get my Master’s in gastroanthrolology as I find the culture of food so interesting. Like you, there’s no way I could “pretend” to learn the USDA’s version of nutrition.

    • That would be AWesome! Eventually we’ll have the GI Bill to work with and perhaps I can put that to use in a University setting. I’d toyed around with exercise physiology as well…

  2. er, of course I meant gastranthroPOLogy. But I can’t spell today.

  3. Not only do the What Thins (see what I did there?) have Sugar, they also have Invert Sugar. Do these two things cancel each other out?

  4. I think the tomato should read “Ingredients: Tomato.”

  5. Very exciting! I’ve been researching to go back to school as well, but also don’t want to have to give ‘wrong’ answers just to get a silly degree – and then presumably get in trouble for refusing to push their agenda! What school? What program? Please share! Would love to be a long-distance study-buddy!!

    • The Nutritional Therapy Association! http://www.nutritionaltherapy.com. They’re an actual school, but do one east-coast and one west-coast learning program each year. This year I’m participating in the Arlington, VA venue, which is just a few hours away! Check it out – the registration is open through February 14! They are an absolutely amazing program, steeped in the work of Weston A. Price, and provide excellent business-based support for their students!

  6. Go girl! I love school so I’m a bit jealous of you going back – yeah I’m a big ol’ NERD.
    So glad that we got a new GI Bill that’s decent!

    • I’m pretty much Van Wilder at this point…I wish I could stay in school forever! And hooray for transferring GI benefits. Lots of crap we have to deal with, but lots to be grateful for too.

  7. I am really interested in “real” nutrition as opposed to USDA/SAD guidelines. The more I read and research on whole foods, the more disgusted I become at processed foods. What is the path you are taking to pursue Nutritional Therapy and what is required? Thank you for such great posts!

  8. I am so happy for you that you are pursuing this! So wonderful. Also I made the egg cupcakes the other night and we’ve enjoyed them for breakfast this week. Thanks!

  9. This is such a great post! I too have considered becoming an RD, but just can’t bring myself to, for the same reasons you mentioned. Thanks for providing the link to the program you used…I’m going to look into it!
    Also, I was just about to write up a post about fiber on my blog, and our misguided use of it. I’m totally linking back to this post because well… you are funnier than me!

  10. Congrats!! Very excited to see you going this route. One thing I really cherish about both you and AndreAnna is how wonderfully you both simplify the science of what this is all about. I have exactly ZERO head for the actual science, and while I believe it to be true, I need smarter people to boil it down for me. So, yay for you getting even smarter so I can stay even healthier 🙂

  11. Thanks for the website info! I am really going to look into that school. Coming from a completely different educational background (Masters in Music) I never really got into nutrition and health until I started Crossfit, and now I can’t get enough! In the meantime, can you suggest some books/articles? I have read The Paleo Diet, by Loren Cordain, and I also get Robb Wolf’s blogs and Mark’s Daily Apple, plus I research some other articles when I have the time. Any info. would be greatly appreciated! Thanks and good luck on your exciting healthy adventure!!

    • A few books that I absolutely loved are Nutrition and Physical Degeneration by Weston A. Price and Primal Body, Primal Mind by Nora Gedgaudas. The entire reading list from the NTA is well worth the cost, and I also like The Whole Soy Story by Kaayla Daniel and am currently reading The Coming Population Crash. The Vegetarian Myth by Lierre Keith should be required reading for everybody, although there are a few things I take issue with, her logic is well worth exploring! Another thing I’d suggest is heading over to the Weston A. Price foundation and reviewing some of their stuff. While there are certain points I disagree with, they are doing some amazing things and really preserving the tradition of nourishing food – especially nourishing FATS!

  12. Thanks much! I will check it out! I’m in Virginia, but the Hampton Roads area.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

