Cutesy little hack.

The word “hack” just makes me giggle. It reminds me of so many things – my old boss, the noise my dog makes when he’s made optimal use of my hairbrush, and that movie we snuck into back in middle school where Angelina Jolie and that guy from Scream played computer nerds.

In this case, I’m talking about a little shortcut – intended to make life easier. We Real Food folks spend lots of time prepping, creating and packaging meat & veggie masterpieces, so any time-saving trick is much appreciated.

I’m sure I’m not the first to come up with the following, but it occurred to me when making AndreAnna’s egg cupcakes. I needed to grease the muffin cups, but I only cook with Sat Fats – which, we all know, are solid at room temperature. An obnoxious predicament.

Here’s a post by Nora Gedgaudas on Sat Fats. A summary: They’re awesome, you should always cook with them, and they don’t cause heart disease. Whatever led “scientists” (read: industry shills) to conclude SatFats were problematic was probably the deliberate disregarding of the inconvenient concomitant consumption of TOO MANY CARBOHYDRATES and/or oxidized cholesterol (from low-fat milk and egg substitutes, duh).

I oversimplify. The point is, SatFats rock. This is certainly not a Cordain-ism, but I’m not afraid to scream it from the rooftops.

Back to greasing. I find smearing globs of coconut oil around an easily-warped paper cup or into the hole of a baking apparatus totally indelicate. Distributing the oil in a fine mist would be much more refined. So I melted some coconut oil and funneled it into this glass spray bottle:

 

Foreground: Spray bottle. Mid-view: Butternut Squash. Background: Dehydrator. Arrears: Smug Primal Blogger.

This Paleo-fied Salad Spritzer sprays perfectly and distributes the coconut oil across those darling muffin cups. No indelicate smearing. When you need to re-use, just submerge the glass bottle in hot water until it’s totally melted.

Run the nozzle under warm water to melt any gobs that linger in the sprayer, and make sure the glass cools a bit before you grip it & rip it.

So you’ve been hacked – what hacks do YOU have to share?

 

11 Responses to “Cutesy little hack.”

  1. LOVE. Plus another excuse for purchasing cute containers.

    I have a tiny tin container that I poured melted coconut oil in and once it solidified I stuck it in my purse for use as a lip moisturizer… my personal primal “hack” 🙂

  2. GREAT idea! My biggest shortcut is not really much of a hack, but I prep veggies right after I grocery shop. It’s so much easier during the week when making breakfast, packing lunches, and throwing dinner together…

  3. Hehe I also have a tiny little jar- it was one of those little jam-samplers at one time, and i put melted coconut oil in there to use as a makeup remover/moisturizer!
    I love the spritzer idea! Great for a waffle iron! 🙂 Thanks!
    http://www.paleoerin.com

    • Jam samplers have been a favorite of mine since I was, like, five years old! I still save them and am very happy to now have a use for them…since I have no use for the jam anymore! Hooray for recycling. I also re-use glass spice bottles for my own blends.

  4. Genius! I do the prechopping “hack” as well. I menu plan and try and recycle leftovers into the next meal ex. Taco Ground beef can be used to stuff bell peppers, in mini quiches the next morning. Three meals worth of meat cooked in one go 🙂

  5. I just melt some ghee or coconut oil in a small pan and spoon 1/2-1 tsp of fat into each muffin tin, then swoosh it around with a pastry brush (if I feel ambitious). Hey, if there’s more fat than is strictly necessary for non-sticking, I don’t really mind…

  6. If you still use butter that comes in those wax paper covered sticks, just save the paper wrapper. It’s got bits of butter all over it. I grease pans and muffin cups with it when I can’t just drop the fat into a skillet and let it melt and sort of slosh it around.

    • Oh and I fold them in half, butter side in, and store them in a ziploc bag in the fridge. Best way to keep them out of the way and unmessy.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

