Fajita Extravaganza…Viva la Cauli Rice.

I’m departing from my heavily serious Meta-self (here and here) and focusing on something else that makes me just as happy as when I disgorge unsolicited Primal Preachy-ness all over my beloved reader.

Cauli Rice!

Spaghetti squash and Kale are so last fall. These days it’s all about the two things I never…EVER thought I’d need on hand at least twice each week: Cabbage and cauliflower. For my purposes today, let’s explore the amazing incarnation of Rufus that is Cauli Rice. (Awesome Never Been Kissed reference: check!)

All right, so simple enough: You chop up a bunch of cauliflower, coarsely or finely – with a knife or in the food processor – and you’ve still got…cauliflower. Blecht.

Add flavors of Asia, Spain, Mexico, or THAT MSG SHACK DOWN THE STREET and you’ve got an act worthy of an EGOT (awesome 30 Rock reference…check!)

A few ways I’ve used Cauli Rice: In Fried RicePaleo Paella, and yesterday in a spectacular Fajita Extravaganza.

We three bowls...of yummy-fake-riiice...

 

CaveHusband made fire and whipped up a perfectly medium-rare steak. I sauteed mixed peppers and onion in ghee, stirred up some guac, sliced the jicama “chips,” popped the top on my favorite Green Mountain Gringo salsa, and whipped up the Cauli Rice in some ghee and spices. Yes, I added some corn to counter-act the bite of my impromptu seasoning – found on this website. I added too many red pepper flakes. Corn is one of my Primal Fudgems, remember?

The beauty of the Cauli Rice is that, when sauteed with spices, it readily absorbs the flavors you choose. You don’t have to cook for long – just add a tablespoon of oil to the skillet, heat to medium, and add the chopped cauliflower. Toss in the seasoning of your choice and stir for a few minutes. This time I used Mexican Rice seasoning, but I’ve gone as simple as basic coconut aminos for a hint of asian flavor to add to Primal Palate’s grain-free sushi.

We wrapped this delicious Fajita Extravaganza in lettuce leaves – Boston lettuce is best for the task.

 

Ahmigash. Perfecto!

Tags: ,

13 Comments to “Fajita Extravaganza…Viva la Cauli Rice.”

  1. Looks Great!!

  2. I love cauliflower rice but I’m also totally interested in what you’ve been doing with cabbage. I’m having a LOVE AFFAIR with cabbage right now and it’s all I can do to not google recipes all day long of what to do with this new and beloved vegetable. Do tell! 🙂

  3. I’ve been making cauliflower rice all the time over these past few weeks! We’re on the same foodie wavelength. I usually toss in some fresh garlic, mini sweet peppers, and well-cooked bacon +fat right into the processor….nom.nom.nom. Of course, the addition of bacon would make anything taste better. I’ve also cooked it with homemade chicken broth and crushed black pepper. Great if you’re feeling under the weather.

  4. Yum! What a cool idea 🙂 BTW peeps are going coconuts over coconut oil since my last post!

  5. I hate hate hate cauliflower. But…I miss rice for dishes like this…I probably need to buck up and just try it.

  6. Note to slowmiles: My kids said that they hate, hate, hate cauliflower, so when I made the cauliflower rice the first time, I made sure they didn’t know what it was. I used tons of ghee, salt, and pepper and they thought it was great. (I wish I’d had an onion…other than that, for straight “rice” this is my go-to solution now.)

    Anyway, I was just wondering how it would work as “spanish”rice with fajitas…I’m thinking I’ll be trying it next.

    • When my dad came to visit I made “Paleo Paella…” which he seemed to enjoy until I made the mistake of telling him it was cauliflower and not rice! I should’ve kept my mouth shut…a lesson I call upon when I hide liver in my bison chili. 🙂

  7. brilliant. Now what are you doing that is so brilliant with cabbage? Inquiring minds want to know.

  8. I tried your “fake” rice. Love it. Mexican food, Jambayla, casseroles, Chinese, lots of dishes we have discovered it’s easy to convert to Paleo. Those of you who hate cauliflower, I promise, this is the easy way to eat cauliflower. If you didn’t know, you wouldn’t guess it wasn’t rice. Thank you CaveGirl!!

Leave a Reply

