Homemade BBQ Sauce

For anyone who may not know, I work as the Nutrition Advisor for Steve’s Original (see my bio here). Steve’s Original produces Paleo Kits, Paleo Krunch, and Just Jerky (among other amazingly delicious things) and proceeds support Steve’s Club, which provides athletic training and mentorship for at-risk youth! I blog a few times each week over there, and this week I’ve been working on Paleo-friendly BBQ sauce.

I’m very excited about this recipe, a collaborative effort between myself and Kristen of Eat Well With Wine (10% “myself,” 90% Kris). Check it out – if you make it, let me know what you think!

Find it here!

6 Comments to “Homemade BBQ Sauce”

  1. Looks awesome! That’s definitely going in my pile of “recipes to try”. I already printed a copy. 🙂

  2. I made this last night to go with BBQ bacon sliders with blue cheese dressing (wrapped with romaine lettuce leaves–no bun–of course). I live in the Middle East, so I was kinda shocked that I couldn’t find the Laxmi tamarind chutney (the first ingredient for all of the available chutneys was sugar). I ended up buying some tamarind paste and blending it with water, a few dates, cumin, and salt.

    In the end, the sauce came out super yummy. It was a little vinegar-y for my test, but I added a little extra tomato paste and that did the trick. Thanks for the great recipe!

    • I tinkered with it a bit this weekend, and it’s just as de-lish without the ACV. I’m going to update the recipe with this. I want to try making it with tamarind paste and add my own cumin and chili powder, although I’m so happy to have discovered the Laxmi brand since it’s totally sugar and additive-free (well, with the exception of the dates, which don’t seem to have added much sugar). I was initially going to use tamarind concentrate, but couldn’t find any without HFCS.

      • Good to know about going sans ACV–I’m thinking of making another batch for this coming weekend, so I’ll plan to omit it and see how it goes. Yup, the tamarind paste here is very straightforward: tamarind extract and salt. Nada mas. If I thought there was any way it’d make the transatlantic trip without breaking, or being confiscated by UAE or US customs, I’d send ya a jar! 🙂

  3. Thanks for your support Cave Girl!!

Leave a Reply

