Things are going to start happening to me now.

If you’ve been reading this blog for more than five minutes (shout out to mom, grams, and Jonathan Taylor Thomas), you’ll know that I have exquisite taste in film. Nearly every life circumstance can be aligned with a classic movie scene – those profound scenes that stand over decades of filmographic detritus with the grace of Scarlett O’Hara, the charm of Cary Grant, and the staunchness of Katharine Hepburn. Observe:

Now you understand precisely what I felt like when I saw this in my mailbox yesterday:

I mean, DO YOU KNOW HOW LONG IT’S BEEN SINCE WE’VE GOTTEN A 20% OFF COUPON AT BED BATH & BEYOND?!

Just kidding. The item of phonebook-like importance that came yesterday was our issue of Paleo Magazine. And while my neighbors trimmed their trees and mowed their lawns, I proudly – and by proudly I mean publicly, and in my bathrobe – did the Navin Johnson. (Reference: Above video.)

You see, I’m a columnist for this (awesome) (ridiculously awesome) (did I mention awesome?) new mag. I have a passion for crap-free body care and finding ways to reduce my dependence on that bank-account-sucking-cosmetics-vortex that is Walgreens while still remaining “ridiculously good looking,” and the publisher is allowing me a print platform for my beauty misadventures.

(PS…a Cave Girl Eats shirt to the first person to identify the Pop-out movie quote in the above paragraph.)

Since this is the first magazine dedicated to the Paleo/Primal/Real Foods lifestyle, I had no idea what to expect. I knew it would be amazing, but I had no idea just how incredible.

Without giving away the farm, I’ll let you in on a bit of the sweetness. This mag features some serious Paleo/Primal luminaries like Sarah Fragoso of Everyday Paleo, Bill & Hayley of Primal Palate, and Amy Kubal of…well…everything nutrition-related. But it goes above & beyond by featuring summaries of pertinent scientific studies, food sourcing knowledge (did YOU know about the Factory Farm Map?), recipes, and natural-movement fitness ideas from Erwan Le Corre of MovNat and David Csonka of Naturally Engineered.

I know, I sound like a paid sponsor. But truly, I was pretty mum about my contribution to the mag until now. I wanted to really soak in the finished product before I lauded its killer content. And I’m just so dang excited that we Primal/Paleo folks have a publication to call our own. I can finally cancel my subscription to my other lifestyle mag, Art Doll Quarterly.

So if you’re game, let me know what type of beauty and body-care stuff you’d like to see. What would you like to know more about? I’ve got lots in the lineup – everything from head-to-toe homemade concoctions to the coolest (and most obscure) ways to keep your home, clothes and dishes clean. I can’t wait for the next issue!

30 Comments to “Things are going to start happening to me now.”

  1. Zoolander!

    oh, and i just subscribed to Paleo Magazine myself — super psyched to read your column!

  2. By “above movie quote” do you mean The Jerk or Zoolander? WIN!

  3. Can I do a tutorial on how to make a Cavegirl art doll? I’m totally game!
    Also I think that B,B&B has slacked off on the coupons – the one here in downtown Seattle sells nice shampoo & conditioner and other sundries – it’s nice getting 20% off of that stuff!

    OK – howabout – homemade muscle rubs? I could so use some – as much as I love my Tiger Balm!

  4. Is the quote from “Zoolander”? I didn’t know a Paleo mag was coming out. Bonus that you’re writing about cosmetics and stuff. How about safe stuff for kids? Sunscreens, moisturizers, etc? I will have to check it out!

  5. Wow. Sounds like and exciting new chapter for you. Thank you for sharing!

  6. Congrats! That’s super exciting! Best wishes on this new endeavor.

  7. How about “home made” laundry detergent for hi efficiency washers? Is that at all paleo-related?

  8. Don’t know about anyone else, but I could use some help with my hair. I have yet to find a paleo/natural way to style my hair that doesn’t make me look like hubby hit me in the head and dragged me back to his cave by it. Cosmetics help would rock too.

    Still waiting for my issue to arrive. We have ridiculously slow mail around here. Hearing all the great reviews is only making me more antsy for it to arrive.

  9. How about something on how to style curly hair going natural? I would love to ditch the shampoo and products but can’t find any info. for people with curly hair. It still needs something our it becomes a big fuzz ball. Thanks!

  10. You make me laugh! Congratulations on being PUBLISHED!

  11. I switched to the oil cleansing method about 6 weeks ago, and my level of acne is still much worse than before I switched. I would have thought my skin would have adjusted by now. I’m using 25% castor oil/75% sunflower oil to cleanse, and coconut oil to moisturize. Any ideas about what I could be doing wrong, or will it just take more time?

    • Hey Lindsay,

      I truly empathize with your situation. I don’t believe the oil cleansing method will necessarily FIX acne (I think that requires an approach that involves hormonal control with food, targeted supplementation, AND cleansing), but it absolutely shouldn’t make it worse. Feel free to email me – cavegirleats at gmail – and I will do what I can to help you.

  12. Congrats – I can’t wait to get my hands on one of those magazines! How about makeup? As I was slathering on my Clinique tinted moisturizer, I was thinking that there’s probably something a little more “natural” out there.

  13. Congrats!

    Sun screen. Moisturizer. Deodorant. Tooth paste. Soap. Shampoo. Stuff to help when you get a cut from getting infected. Body cleansers. Cleaners to use in the kitchen (counter top, pots, etc). And stuff to help the body re-energize after a long day of working you butt off… 🙂

  14. OMG!! ive been reading your blog forever and i dont know why i never thought of this, but i make homemade skincare stuff using paleo principles (is that a term?) and just started my own little business selling the stuff. can i send some to you?? just a few little things. just for fun. i wouldnt expect any quid pro quo or anything. let me know if im out of line, but i also have a passion for streamlined and simplified and natural and effective beauty routine that also smells really good. and im also working as we speak on a muscle rub!

  15. I am amazed by you and your positive contibrutions to society!!!

  16. Yay! I was super giddy the other day when I got mine in the mail 🙂 So stoked to see you in there…loved your picture by the way you gorgeous girl you.

  17. This is SO awesome! Congratulations! Very exciting!

  18. I have just recently started making my own laundry detergent and it works great in HE washers. I also my my own all purpose/glass cleaner which is wonderful for cleaning the kitchen and most other things and also a “Soft Scrub”/ toilet bowl cleaner. I have been making my own soaps too and always ready to experiment more with things like homeade weed killer,, works great on most weeds,, not so great on poision ivy 😦 . Can’t wait to try some of your beauty/body care stuff!

    • Hi Tara! If you’d like to help inform some of my articles (you’d be cited, of course), I’d love to exchange ideas! Email me cavegirleats at gmail dot com. I know so many folks who would be very appreciative!

  19. I am all about really, truly healthy body care, but I spend enough time in the kitchen making food..I like to buy personal care products already packaged. The miessence range is the best out there…they have the largest range of products certified to organic food standards ( not the lesser organic cosmetic standard)…check it out:
    http://www.organicmission.com

Leave a Reply

