Paleo Beach Bash

This past (passed?) weekend was one for the history books for several reasons. First, Cave Husband and I got to spend a day at the beach – the Jersey Shore, no less, in beautiful Stone Harbor – with our new friends Bill and Hayley of The Food Lover’s Primal Palate. Second, I did nothing to indicate to Bill and Hayley that I’m anything but a completely normal person. That is, except for this:

Confused? On the left is where I told my Vitamin D status to “get excited!” On the right is where the Sun told my Vitamin D status to “suck it.”

Yup, first sunburn in years. It’s okay, though. I ate Paleo and it went away.

So I wasn’t sure what to expect out of our day at the beach with The Food Lovers (hereafter referred to as TFL). Not because I doubted their awesomeness, but because this was my first trip to “the shore.” I’m not from Jersey originally, thus my image of the Jersey Shore had been tainted by the Voldemorts of the East Coast Shoreline – those over-tanned, MTV-sponsored walking Bump-Its who shall not be named.

As I’m sure you guessed, I was totally blown away by the lovely Stone Harbor. Not a spray tan or a Bump-It in sight; just the beautiful ocean, soft sand, lovely storefronts and delicious smells. Above all, the company was fantastic and we found our new Paleo Family. Our Paleo Peeps. (Paleos from another Maleo?)

When Paleo Magazine does its “10 Hottest Couples in Paleo” issue, TFL is going to be #1. I imagine the magazine spread will include a pic of myself and the CH just for a sad, perversely entertaining comparison. It’ll look a little like this:

Left: Bill & Hayley of Primal Palate (Photo by Kelli Ann Photography).
Right: Me and the Cave Husband (Self-taken).

After our day on the beach wherein we all got sunkissed (some more than others), we retired to the beach house. TFL began slicing, dicing and cooking an amazing dinner. Actually, more accurately – they finessed us an amazing dinner. While every recipe they blog is totally do-able for anybody (Lo Mein and Grandy Kyp’s Chicken Soup are my favorites) it takes real talent to keep a sense of order during the entire cooking process. Even the simplest recipes leave my kitchen looking post-apocalyptic, and I have never once not cut or burned myself. (Once I burned the INSIDE of my armpit on a crock pot. True story.)

No chaos here. The beach house looked like an angel puppy had licked it clean from the beginning of the process to the end, and everyone’s fingers were intact when dinner – clams, lamb burgers and grilled veggies – was served.

Truly, I couldn’t have asked for a better day. How many people are there on this planet who will discuss beet kvass, coconut oil and Bob Marley with equal excitement? TFL even spent a good hour trying to convince me to write a book, to which I replied that, unfortunately, a sequel to The Hobbit had already been written. But I still felt all warm inside.

I love the Real Food community. I’ve gotten to connect with some of the greatest people I’ve ever met because of it. Bill and Hayley, you guys have replaced coconut milk ice cream AND the flying monkeys from The Wizard of Oz on my list of favorite things. Thanks for an awesome day, and here’s to many more!**

**Please note: I will never cook for you. It would just cause pain and disappointment.

Tags: ,

16 Responses to “Paleo Beach Bash”

  1. Wait, do you all live in NJ?! I’ll be there from July 1-21… we should meet! πŸ™‚

  2. I rest my case about you writing a book!!!

    I live down the “shore” here in South Jersey as well, we just don’t call it that. We just say we live near the beach (5 miles to be exact). You should try Brigantine Beach as well, and others, just not Atlantic City. πŸ™‚

  3. Awww. Now I’m even MORE excited to meet them than I already was! πŸ˜„

  4. Liz, we couldn’t have asked for a better day. We will gladly cook for you anytime! Your company was wonderful. We felt like we had known you both FOREVER. We are only sad that you guys couldn’t stop down for another day this week.

    @ Diane- We live in Pittsburgh, just here taking a little work vaca for a few days. Hope to meet you at the AHS in August though!

    @ James- thanks!

  5. Please note that the the Voldemorts of the East Coast Shoreline – are not the norm for the shore towns of NJ, especially south of Seaside. They are a small sub culture that has splintered off from civilized society

    -John Long time Jersey Shore vacationer

  6. Um, I love your blog. I have recently started a 30-day Paleo trial (day 6…Holla!). Thus, I have been scouring the internet for all things Paleo (trying to come up with ideas on what to do with the large amounts of coconut flour, squash, almonds, and dates that I recently purchased), and I stumbled upon CaveGirl Eats. Great, funny stuff. However, I will now spend the rest of the day singing “Mockingbird” Jim Carrey-style in my head.

  7. First, I just googled “angel puppy licked it clean” to see where you stole that from, and I didn’t get a single hit! You REALLY are that funny. So I will be backing Haley and Bill on the book writing front. And I am even more excited to meet all of you at AHS.

    And second, they get my vote for couple #1 on the hot paleo list. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

