I’m grateful for the hindquarters.

Okay. Sorry if I’m fixin’ to offend anyone. (Update: This post started out with the title: “I’m grateful for my a$$.” I chickened out.)

To preface this post, I’m very, very grateful for the many blessings in my life. I’ve written about this before, and I will again. I’m grateful for this country, for the way thoughtful eating has changed my life, for my so-wonderful-he-can’t-be-real Cave Husband, for my family, for the lifelong friends I’ve made through the Air Force, and for the exceedingly funny and clearly unintentional hilarity The Twilight Saga has brought to my life.

Edward: “I’m British. Dance awkwardly with me.”
Bella: “Did your hair get electrocuted?” 

I’m also grateful for the fact that my little blog has grown. A lot. I have an amazing platform from which to leap in almost any direction I choose, and I get to take you, reader (whether willingly or by force) (probably force), with me. And because it seems that two or three folks are actually listening to me, I’ve felt the bizarre need to retreat back into my little mistake-laden, failure-ridden, redemption-filled shell until I somehow figure out a way to become “Perfect” such that I may fulfill any lofty expectations any of you may have of me. Specifically, I’d prefer to disappear until my skin, hair, and hindquarters are utterly perfect.

You know that backwards mentality where you think, “I’ll join a gym…as soon as I lose 10 pounds.”

That’s how I feel. And for a long time, I didn’t feel that way. I was happy lifting heavy, eating well, enjoying life, and allowing the chips to fall wherever they fell.

But something changed a bit when I realized how grateful and fortunate I am to have a voice in this community. I look around me at these incredible men & women who, in my observation, have healthy eating, exercise, and being awesome all figured out. I won’t name names, but their names are Jen, Diane, Nom Nom, David, Robb, Bill, Hayley, Laura, my readers, and all the other folks in this Real Food movement who inspire and motivate me every day. You all are seriously my heroes.

I’m damn genuine about the things I do – eating well, lifting heavy, and using simple, non-toxic self-care stuff – but sometimes I think…I just wish I was better than I am. 

I’ve had a post in the works for awhile. Its working title: “Is My Ass Too Fat To Be A Paleo Blogger?”

After agonizing over this post for a month and compounding my anxiety by allowing my insecurities to get the best of me, I decided to change my tune a bit. Why? First, because my Ass isn’t a Paleo Blogger; and second, because I realized that I need to GET OVER MYSELF.

Some time ago, I wrote a post entitled, “The Day I Wore Teeny Tiny Shorts.” I discussed my priorities – the fact that I prioritize my sanity above self-judgment and make a (semi) constant effort to quell self-judgment and “on-wagon, off-wagon” thinking. A quote from this post:

“EVERYONE’S insecurities are completely unfounded and ridiculous. At the very least, they’re a complete waste of your emotional capital. Guess what? You’re not fat. Your hair is quite pretty. You’re special, and gosh darn it, people like you.”

Where did my convictions go in these weeks of indulging crippling insecurities? I forgot about my list of healthy-living mentors and started lamenting the fact that I wasn’t one of those lucky chicks who was just born lean and “skinny” and why couldn’t I just be a rail since childhood and take up CrossFit and Paleo and pack on muscle and look like some crazy success story doing handstands on the beach right nooowwwwww?

What happened to my gumption? My pluck? My perspicacity? What happened to my gratitude for the ground I’ve already covered, and my excitement for the road ahead?

I’m not sure. But I’m bringin’ it back. Today, in addition to being grateful for all the things outside of myself, I’m grateful for  the opportunity to be ME. I promise to use this life and this opportunity well. And to shut up about all the crap that doesn’t matter.

And let this serve as my reminder to myself: I’m grateful for my booty. It helps me haul sandbags and fill chairs and get cast in music videos. (Okay, that last one isn’t true.) Rock on, booty, thighs, and hammies. And thank you.

17 Responses to “I’m grateful for the hindquarters.”

  1. So much of this sounds just like me (except the super-awesome blogger part). In any case, thank you for sharing and for the reminder. Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  2. you’re hot. that is all.

    ps this is Hayley not Bill…

  3. No way you could ever understand how this profoundly, and I do mean profoundly, just changed my thought process. Thank you seems insignificant but it’s really the only thing I can say.

  4. You are awesome Liz! I love all of your thoughtful insights, funny posts and interesting information. I love your blog!

  5. I love your booty! Happy Thanksgiving dear friend!

  6. All my life I’ve “malpracticed” my rear end and it never got smaller. When I brgan a semi-paleo lifestyle, guess what. Either it’s really, really smaller or I just think I look better in that department. Either way, I like me better. Now for the wheatbelly . . .

  7. and a good reason to eat more pie!

  8. Your ass is amazing! And trust me I definitely don’t have it all figured out. (But I appreciate your vote of confidence!)

    Being healthy is wayyy more important than being skinny anyway. Girls are supposed to have a lil’ junk in the trunk. You know, fertility and perfect babies and all that. 🙂

  9. I’ve just recently found your blog, and everything just clicks. For a girl who keeps getting bothered about figuring out what I’d like to do with my life, I’m definitely getting some Birkenstock inspiration. In the past month I’ve moved both my hair and face care to your natural oil-and baking-soda-based recommendations and am taking the oh-so-lovely transition period in stride. And, as someone who gets called simply “Booty” by too many of her coworkers, I understand. But damn if my booty doesn’t look 10 times better than it did in July. Thanks.

  10. I love this! I am blessed with plenty of backside. In a good way. I’m glad to see you celebrate yours! Girls with boot unite!

  11. I’ll second Rachel!

    I’m grateful for your ASS TOO!! And the moves that get me mine (squats squats and more squats)!

  12. Humor AND common sense is VERY refreshing. Glad I found you!

  13. Your hindquarters bring all the boys to the yard. And girls.

  14. “I like BIG butts and I cannot lie!”

    Glad you’re embracing it 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

